Chick-fi-NAY

9 Feb

As I was walking on campus this afternoon in search of something quick to eat for lunch, it came to me: CHICK-FIL-A! Yes! Chick-fil-A would be the perfect midday meal to eat at a speedy pace before my next class. But just as I began to imagine the taste of their scrumtiddilyocious chicken nuggets in my mouth (yup, that’s right, I fantasize about food), I thought, “Wait. I can’t! I love the gays!”

But what could refusing to eat delicious Chick-fil-A chicken have to do with loving gay people? Well, a lot. That’s right boys and girls; your favorite fast food joint isn’t cool with same-sex couples. In fact, they’ve been linked to a number of anti-gay organizations including Focus on the Family, the National Organization for Marriage, the Pennsylvania Family Institute and Exodus International. Turns out Chick-fil-A isn’t so Chick-fi-Gay.

On January 26, change.org posted an article discussing the company’s newly exposed affiliations. The article uncovers Chick-fil-A’s deep tie to the WinShape Foundation and its Retreat Center. When asked in the article whether or not the center was open to members of the LGBT community, WinShape responded by saying:

WinShape Retreat defines marriage from the Biblical standard as being between one man and onewoman. Groups/Individuals are welcome who offer wholesome, educational conferences and programs that are compatible with Biblical values and WinShape’s purpose.

In other words, homosexuals are not welcome.

Throughout the country, the unsettling news has spurred significant protest. In response to West Virginia University’s decision to build a new Chick-fil-A in their student center, stickers portraying the Chick-fil-A cow have begun to appear on telephone poles on major Morgantown, WV streets.

According to justout.com, members of the WVU campus gay group aren’t exactly sure of what the stickers mean. Are they meant to express anti-gay or anti-Chick-fil-A sentiments? It seems that the message could go either way.

Perhaps this adaptation of the famous Chick-fil-A cow sends a more positive message.

Change. org also has a Support the Students: Stand Up Against Chick-fil-A’s Anti-Gay Agenda Petition available for signing on their website. Go ahead, sign it! It’ll make you feel a little better.

The most clear message that any supporter of gay rights can send to Chick-fil-A is to completely boycott the company. That’s right, I said it. I’m not eating at Chick-fil-A until I’m sure that they’ve relinquished their ties to anti-gay supporters. I am quite aware that this may never happen and that I may never eat their tasty chicken or waffle fries again. But, I know I can do it and I dare you to make the same commitment. As amazing as Chick-fil-A’s food is, I think gay people are a whole lot more amazing. So I say nay to you, Chick-fil-A. CHICK. FI. NAY.

-Lauranium

6 Responses to “Chick-fi-NAY”

  1. penguinlad 02/09/2011 at 9:01 am #

    Very nice coverage of this awful story. Another blog I follow has been covering it pretty closely, too, and has provided a link to a good guide for shopping for LGBT equality.

  2. grrrir 02/09/2011 at 9:22 am #

    I was so saddened when I found this out. Gosh I love their food. :’( Well, I suppose it’s always back to the dollar menu… the have an 85 on the Corporate Quality Index at HRC!

    http://www.hrc.org/cei2011/index.html

  3. grrrir 02/09/2011 at 9:22 am #

    I was so saddened when I found this out. Gosh I love their food. :’( Well, I suppose it’s always back to the dollar menu… they have an 85 on the Corporate Quality Index at HRC!

    http://www.hrc.org/cei2011/index.html

    • STU 02/09/2011 at 1:38 pm #

      HOPE STARVE BECAUSE YOU DONT HAVE ANYTHING BETTER TO THEN COMPLAIN ABOUT A FAST FOOD JOINT. JUST BE YOURSELF AND STOP WORRING ABOUT WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK. HELL IM FAT DO YOU THINK IM WORRIED ABOUT WHAT PEOPLE SAY…NO IM MY OWN PERSON.

      • lauranium 02/09/2011 at 6:02 pm #

        It seems to me that maybe you missed the point of the article. I am not concerned with people judging my eating habits. I am, however, concerned with the fact that this company is supporting anti-gay organizations. I feel that if I buy their products, then I too am supporting these organizations—and that’s not cool!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

